Nominate a Nurse Leader for the 2019 McHugh Award

CFAR | April 02, 2019

May 31 is the deadline to nominate a nurse leader for the Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS) Nursing. The winner receives $1,000 to be used for professional development, and a trip to the LeadingAge Annual Meeting & EXPO in San Diego.

Are you looking for a way to acknowledge an outstanding Director of Nursing (DON) or Assistant Director of Nursing (ADON) in your organization? Nominate him or her for the Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in Long-Term Services and Supports (LTSS) Nursing.

The McHugh Award recognizes a DON or ADON who creates a supportive and engaged workplace environment by displaying excellent leadership skills while managing nursing and frontline staff.

Winner of the McHugh Award receives:

  • $1,000 to be used for professional development, and
  • A trip to the LeadingAge Annual Meeting and Expo, which takes place Oct. 27-30 in San Diego.

May 31 is the deadline to complete an online nomination for the award.

About the Joan Anne McHugh Award

The Joan Anne McHugh Award for Leadership in LTSS Nursing will be awarded to a DON or ADON who:

  • Demonstrates creative and innovative approaches to leadership in LTSS nursing.
  • Values and respects all levels of professional caregivers, and models and promotes this attitude among peers.
  • Facilitates meaningful collaboration among interdisciplinary team members.
  • Creates or implements practices at the organization to improve the workplace environment and support nursing and frontline staff.
  • Is instrumental in improving the recruitment and retention of the nursing and frontline staff.
  • Assists caregivers in understanding their relationship to the organization’s mission and goals.

Nominating organizations will be asked to submit a description of the nominee, a letter describing how the nominee meets the award’s selection criteria, 1 letter of recommendation from a nursing peer, 1 letter of recommendation from a direct care worker, and a letter from the nominee.

The People Behind the McHugh Award

Joan Anne McHugh: The McHugh Award was established in 2005 in memory of Joan Anne McHugh by her family and her colleagues at the Loeb & Troper consulting firm in New York.

During her career as a registered nurse, nurse manager, and nursing consultant, Joan earned a well-deserved reputation for compassion, knowledge, and professionalism, and made a lasting impact on the geriatric health care profession. She died in 2003 at the age of 47.

“It is wonderful to shine a light on the amazing, incredible nurses that have received this award, all of whom truly represent—just as Joan did—all the best qualities and ideals of the nursing field and the field of long-term care nursing,” said Joan’s sister, Margaret Kyriacou. “We have seen and felt a little bit of Joan in all of the recipients of this award, which is, for us, a very beautiful and meaningful thing.”

Angela Jalloh, RN, director of nursing at The Admiral at the Lake in Chicago, won the McHugh Award in 2018. Jalloh is known for setting a high bar for performance among team members while spending significant time and energy helping them reach their potential. She was also recognized for launching a new workforce initiative that helped The Admiral achieve full staffing coverage while eliminating the need to hire agency staff.

“The working environment here is very conducive to making change,” she told LeadingAge magazine. “And because I am feeling that support, I want my team to feel it too. I am happy to have team members who are ready to make a change with me, even when they are scared and don’t think it is going to work. But they give me the okay to say, ‘Let’s try it.’ It is a really good feeling and it makes me always want to do more.”

Bahaa Barsoum, RN, director of nursing at A.G. Rhodes Health and Rehab in Atlanta, GA., was the 2017 McHugh Award winner. Barsoum is best known for initiating and implementing a person-centered model of care. He also devises strategies to help certified nursing assistants (CNA) and nurses move up the LTSS career ladder. In the past few years, he’s encouraged 8 LPNs and 4 CNAs to become RNs, persuaded a CNA to become an admission’s assistant, and convinced a nurse on the night shift to apply for a daytime nurse manager position.

“I have a democratic style,” Barsoum says about his leadership philosophy. “I listen to the CNAs, I listen to the nurses. I take their feedback and then we decide which direction to go, and how we’re going to do something. Just because I’m the director, people should not assume that I am the smartest person in the building.”

Start Your Nomination Today

LeadingAge member organizations can use the online application form to nominate individuals for the McHugh Award. Deadline for nominations is May 31.

For more information about the McHugh Award, email Natasha Bryant, senior research associate at LeadingAge, or call 202-508-1214.