Content Header Image

CMS Announces Additional ADRC Funding

by Published On: Nov 16, 2011Updated On: Sep 11, 2012

On Sept.11, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) announced $12.5 million in awards to Aging and Disability Resource Centers (ADRC). Currently, all 50 states and 4 territories are operating or are in the process of implementing an ADRC. 

Two different types of grants were announced: 

  • Part A has about $5.6 million that will support 8 states as they implement enhanced ADRC options-counseling programs.  The 8 recipients of the ADRC grants are Connecticut, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin.
  • Part B has about $7 million that will go to 36 states to continue funding current ADRC programs.

ADRCs offer a single, coordinated system of information and access for people seeking long-term services and supports and help consumers and their families identify options that best suit their needs. 

It is important for providers of long-term services and supports to work closely with ADRCs to ensure that the senior or person with disabilities receives appropriate quality care in a timely manner. ADRCs also make it easier for state and local governments to manage resources and monitor program quality through coordinated data collection and evaluation efforts.

In November 2011, the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) had announced additional funding for ADRCs through the Money Follows the Person Rebalancing Demonstration Program (MFP). 

This is funding to help ADRCs not currently involved in MFP initiatives strengthen their roles in rebalancing the delivery of long-term services and supports from institutional settings to community based settings. Funds may be requested by MFP grantees for projects including building ADRC infrastructure and capacity to support MFP transition efforts. 

The Program Guidance document includes detailed information on this exciting new opportunity. The states of CO, FL, HI, ID, IL, MA, ME, MN, MS, NV, NJ, NM, OH, RI, SC, TN, VT and WV are eligible to apply for the additional ADRC funding. 

Aging and Disability Resource Centers will help caregivers, older individuals and persons with disabilities with finding home and community-based services in their communities to help them remain independent in the community.


comments powered by Disqus